Fellow Membership

Fellows of IBNS are individuals who have made substantial contributions to the Society and to the field of behavioral neuroscience. Fellows in the Society will be invited annually to nominate IBNS members for consideration as Fellows of the Society. Any Fellow can activate the nomination process for a prospective candidate by sending a nomination letter to the Nominations and Awards Committee. The Committee will then contact the Fellow nominee to inform him/her of the nomination and to request a curriculum vita. From these materials (nomination letter and curriculum vita for each candidate), the Fellows Honorific Awards Committee will review and recommend candidates for Fellow status to Council for final approval and election. The Committee can request more letters at their discretion. Click here to see list of IBNS Fellows 1992-present.

2018 IBNS Fellows - Jonathan Brigman, Jodi Pawluski, and Jill Silverman


Career Achievement Award

Candidate is chosen by the Nominations and Awards Committee for outstanding professional achievement in his/her field.  The individual chosen for this award will receive recognition at the IBNS Annual Meeting, including a plaque, and may be asked to give a short talk. Nominations should be sent to the Nominations and Awards Committee for consideration.

2014 Outstanding Achievement Award recipient - Stefan Brudzynski
2016 Outstanding Achievement Award recipient - Stephen Kent
2017 Outstanding Achievement Award recipient - Yutaka Oomura
2018 Outstanding Achievement Award recipient - Kelly Lambert


Best Poster Award

Poster presenters submit their abstract on any subject related to the general area of behavioral neuroscience. The data must be original and not previously published. 

2014 Best Poster Award recipients - Mumeko Tsuda, Andrew Murtishaw, Cristina Banuelos, & Julianne Jett
2015 Best Poster Award recipients - Bruce Kennedy, Justin Botterill, Joseph McQuail, and Mouna Haida
2016 Best Poster Award recipients - Emily Kirk, Richard O'Connor, Moria Braun, Robert Cole
2017 Best Poster Award recipients - Samantha Jo Scarola, Kevin Hui, Evan Hart, & Ana Luisa Terzian


Early Career Award - NEW!

Candidate is within seven years of receiving his/her Ph.D. and a member of the society in good standing. There will be one award per year worth $500 plus a waiver for registration fees for the upcoming conference. Further the winner will receive a 30-minute time slot in the program for an award’s presentation. The deadline for applications is the same as for the other Society awards, and nomination can be through an IBNS member or via self-nomination. The Nomination and Awards Committee will set detailed criteria for this award.

2017 Early Career Achievement Award recipient - Sarah Baracz
2018 Early Career Achievement Award recipient - Cindy Barha


Travel Awards

Congratulations to our 2018 Travel Award recipients! Click here to full view list.

Student and Postdoc Travel Awards will be available for the 2018 IBNS Annual Meeting, to be held at the Boca Raton Resort, Boca Raton, Florida, USA, June 27 - July 2, 2018. Undergraduate, graduate and postdoctoral students are eligible to apply if they are members of IBNS. (Post-docs must be within 7 years of receiving their Ph.D. and do not have a regular full time position.)  Login/password will be required to submit an application. New to IBNS? Please allow 4-6 business days for your membership application to be approved. Women, minorities, and international members are encouraged to apply.

Travel Award applicants will be judged based on criteria specific to their level of training. In addition, travel costs will be taken into consideration in determining the final amount of the award. Travel Award recipients will be required to present a poster as well as participate in a slide blitz session. Award recipients will be required to attend the entire meeting.

Travel Award application deadline is January 22, 2018Click here to access application form.