IBNS 2017 Annual Meeting



IBNS 26th Annual Meeting
The Grand Prince Hotel
Hiroshima, Japan

This page is updated frequently. Be sure to check back for current information. 

Join the International Behavioral Neuroscience Society for the 26th Annual Meeting on June 26-30, 2017.  Hear from the best in our various fields of study, network with scientists and researchers from all over the world, present your work and visit Hiroshima, Japan, a vibrant city with a rich culture.

Share this Save the Date Flyer with your friends and colleagues!

Interested in Exhibiting/Sponsoring IBNS2017? Click HERE for more information.
IBNS2017 Exhibitor/Sponsor Registration

Program Highlights:


IBNS2017 Preliminary Program

Program At-A-Glance

Presidential Lecture:  Toru Takumi, MD., PhD., RIKEN Brain Science Institute (BSI)

Bench to Bedside Speaker: Anissa Abi-Dargham, MD, Stony Brook University

Keynote Speaker:  Peter W. Kalivas, PhD, Medical University of South Carolina

Keynote Speaker:  Yasuo Sakuma, MD., PhD., President University of Tokyo Health Sciences

Important Dates:

October 15, 2016 Symposia/Satellite Proposals Due
January 23, 2017 Travel Award Applications Due
Mid-February Travel Award Notifications
February 21, 2017 Abstract Submissions Due (poster/oral)
March 1, 2017 Late Registration Rates Begin
March 27, 2017 Abstract Submissions Due (poster only)
May 1, 2017 Exhibitor Registration Deadline
June 26-30, 2017 Conference Dates

Travel Awards:

IBNS sponsors many travel awards for students and post-doctoral candidates, so that they may have the opportunity to attend the annual meeting and present their research.  Travel Award applications are available to IBNS student and post-doc members through January 23, 2017 at midnight CST.  Complete the online 2017 Travel Award Application.

Call for Abstracts:

IBNS is now accepting abstracts for presentation (poster or oral) at our annual conference in Hiroshima, Japan, June 26-30, 2017.  Abstracts submitted through February 21, 2017, will be considered for posters or oral presentation, while abstracts submitted through March 27, 2017, will be considered for posters only.  Click here for additional submission information and to complete the 2017 Abstract Form online.  A nonrefundable abstract fee of $50 is due at the time of submission for abstracts submitted through February 21.  Late abstract (after February 21) fee is $75.00.

Call for Symposia/Satellite Proposals:

Symposia and Satellite Proposals will be accepted through October 15, 2016.  View the full Call for Proposals for more information.  Complete the online 2017 IBNS Symposia/Satellite Proposal form to make your submission.  View the accepted symposia HERE.


Great rates for IBNS participants.  *At the time of this post the single use room (9,720JPY) is approximately $82 US dollars and this includes breakfast and taxes!!  Please click here for full details and reservation link for the IBNS conference hotel.  


Join IBNS now for best rates! (Note:  You must have an active IBNS membership before completing the registration form to receive the discounted member rates.  The membership approval process takes 2-3 business days.)

The registration form is available at the link 2017 Annual Meeting Registration.

Member Rates   Non-Member Rates

March 1

March 1
March 1
March 1
Student Member  $ 350.00  $ 425.00   Student Non-Member  $ 450.00  $ 540.00
Post-Doc Member  $ 400.00  $ 480.00   Post-Doc Non-Member  $ 540.00  $ 570.00
Regular Member  $ 500.00  $ 550.00   Regular Non-Member  $ 690.00  $ 760.00

Local Organizing Committee:

Horonary Advisor:

Professor Emeritis, Kyushu University


Yoichi UETA, LOC Chair
Department of Physiology, School of Medicine, University of Occupational and Environmental Health, Kitakyushu
Graduate School of Integrated Arts and Sciences, Hiroshima University, Hiroshima
Department of Oral Physiology, Graduate School of Dental Medicine, Hokkaido University, Sapporo
Department of Integrative Physiology, Graduate School of Medical Sciences, Kyushu University, Fukuoka
Laboratory of Veterinary Ethology, The University of Tokyo, Tokyo
Hitoshi OZAWA
Department of Anatomy and Neurobiology, Graduate School of Medicine, Nippon Medical School, Tokyo
Hiroyoshi SEI
Department of Integrative Physiology, Institute of Biomedical Science, Tokushima University Graduate School, Tokushima
Kiyofumi YAMADA
Department of Neuropsychopharmacology and Hospital Pharmacy, Nagoya University Graduate School of Medicine, Nagoya

Program Committee:

Anthony Kline, Chair
Elena Choleris, Co-chair
Mikhail Pletnikov (Council Liaison)
Kiyofumi Yamada 2017
Wendy Adams 2017
Irina Krasnova 2017
Scott Hall 2017
Davide Amato 2017
Kim Gerecke 2017
Tiffany Donaldson 2018
Monica Bolton 2018
Julianne Jett 2018
Farida Sohrabji 2018